To view Party disclosures, click here
Utah law requires that political parties disclose all contributions and expenditures. There are no laws that restrict the amount of money political parties can spend or receive in Utah. All State political parties must file financial disclosure reports with the Lt. Governor's Office regardless of whether money is received or spent.
Any county party that makes expenditures totaling at least $50 or receives contributions of at least $750 in a calendar year is required to file a financial disclosure report with the Lt. Governor's Office. A county party is required to file all subsequent reports if it makes any expenditures or receives any contributions.
|Due Date||What the Report Covers|
|7 days before the county or statewide convention of even-numbered years||All activity from January 1 to 12 days before the convention.|
|7 days before the primary election of even-numbered years||All activity from 12 days before the convention to 12 days before the primary election.|
|August 31 of even-numbered years||All activity from 12 days before the primary to August 26 of even-numbered years.|
|7 days before the general election in even-numbered years||All activity from August 26 to 12 days before the general election in even-numbered years.|
|January 10 of each year||All activity from 12 days before the general election to December 31 of the regular general election year in even-numbered years, or August 26 in odd-numbered years.|
Information Parties Must Report
Political parties are required to report the following information:
- The date and amount of each contribution;
- The name and address of the individual or source that makes the contribution;
- All contributions of $50 or less should be listed on the report as an aggregate total. If two or more contributions from the same source total over $50 during a reporting period, the contributions may not be included in the aggregate total; the party must report all of the required information about the source of the contributions.
For all expenditures made, the party must disclose the following information:
- the date and amount of the expenditure,
- the name of the recipient and;
- the specific purpose, item, or service that the expenditure acquired.
Non-monetary Contributions or Expenditures
(In-kind contributions & expenditures)
The party must report the fair market value of each non-monetary contribution or expenditure that it receives or makes.
All reports must be submitted electronically via the website Disclosures.utah.gov.
Any party that fails to file its financial disclosure reports is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and may be subject to a fine of $1000. The Lt. Governor is required to report those who fail to file to the Attorney General.